Skip to:

About the ACL

The Association for Computational Linguistics is the international scientific and professional society for people working on problems involving natural language and computation. Membership includes the ACL quarterly journals, Computational Linguistics and Transactions of the ACL, reduced registration at most ACL-sponsored conferences, discounts on ACL-sponsored publications, and participation in ACL Special Interest Groups.

An annual meeting is held each summer in locations where significant computational linguistics research is carried out.

Regional associations related to the ACL include:

  • EACL : The European Chapter of the ACL
  • NAACL : The North American Chapter of the ACL

Current Executive Committee

(Information about past committees can be found in the ACL Archives.)

Past President (2015) Gertjan van Noord, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
President (2015) Chris Manning, Stanford University, USA
Vice-President (2015) Pushpak Bhattacharyya, IIT Bombay, India
Vice-President-elect (2015) Joakim Nivre, Uppsala University, Sweden
Treasurer (2013-2017) Graeme Hirst, Computer Science University of Toronto, Canada
Secretary (2011-2015) Dragomir R. Radev, University of Michigan, USA secretary@org.aclweb (unscramble me)
NAACL chair (ex officio) Hal Daumé III, University of Maryland, USA
EACL chair (ex officio) Lluis Marquez, Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar
At-large (2013-2015) Min-Yen Kan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
At-large (2014-2016) Hermann Ney, RWTH Aachen, Germany
At-large (2015-2017) Yejin Choi, University of Washington, USA
Journal editor (ex officio) Paola Merlo, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Business Manager Priscilla Rasmussen, Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) acl@org.aclweb (unscramble me)

Nominating Committee

Ken Church (2013-2015), IBM TJ Watson Research Center, USA
Haifeng Wang (2014-2016), Baidu, China
Gertjan van Noord (2015-2017), University of Groningen, The Netherlands